Making a wax bezel for casting

Hi again!

Those who have seen my previous post would be aware I’m making an opal engagement ring with an opal from a trip to Lightning Ridge. The band is finished and will be 3d printed with a wax resin. As the opal is hand cut it’s not uniform, and modeling it in software with high accuracy is quite difficult; I have opted to try and make a bezel from wax to attach to the 3d print later.

This is my first attempt, I am looking for any and all feedback about dimensions I should increase, decrease, considerations etc.

I hope the pictures are clear enough!

Tom

Nice opal. What a wonderful thing to do for your partner-to-be!

Just a couple of comments — the setting looks pretty heavy. Is that the look that you want? It might tend to make the opal look a little smaller (like a relatively big frame on a small painting). Nothing wrong with that if that’s your intention.

Do you plan to epoxy the opal in the setting? If not, a heavy bezel like that might make moving metal difficult when setting. Also, is your opal’s bottom cut flat or does it have extra material (a “belly”) like typical opal cutting in Australia? I’m assuming that you’ve left the the bottom of the setting open to deal with that.

Gary

1 Like

Once cast, will you be cutting down the bezel a bit? It looks very heavy and could be a chore to move around a fragile stone like an opal. At the same time, a bit more bezel may help to protect the opal. Maybe something in the middle. Just some thoughts as I don’t cast. Good luck…Rob

This is a jeweller that she particularly likes, so the bigger bezel has just come from her styling. I’m certainly open to making it smaller!

It has a belly, however I mainly cut the bottom out of the setting to push the opal out of it. I also thought it might allow more light in? I had planned to epoxy the opal in for the purpose of keeping it in the right spot during my first bezel setting, but I’m open to other suggestions.