Making a Silver Flute (Casting)

Dear All,

I am new to this forum and I hope my “not 100% jewelry-related” subject is ok.

I have been building Native American style flutes made out of wood for some time now. I recently came up with the idea of making one completely out of silver. I am obsessed with the idea and started to get equipment and practice lost wax casting because I am planning to cast some delicate parts of the flute. I have set up a blog on which I am tracking my progress and would be very happy to get some feedback because I have NO experience with metal / silver casting and some hints would be great.

Here is the page: Silver Flute Blog - Crafting the Native American Style Flute

One of my current questions is how to optimally attach the part (in this case the mouthpiece) to the sprue. You will know what I mean if you look at the page. Is it better to attach the piece directly to the sprue at one location or to create multiple thinner channels from the sprue to the part?

Thank you very much for your help in advance

Kay

1 Like

Hello there. I would DEFINITELY suggest using a casting house. I’d get in touch with them now and use their knowledge and guidance to ensure success.

The carving and design of the flute in wax is already quite a remarkable feat - learning to cast silver can be expensive and frustrating. I know because I’m doing it and simple small items like rings are hard enough.

I would LOVE it if you’d post updates because that sounds like a really cool project.

Good luck!

1 Like

I just checked out your blog - I guess you’ve already dove into casting lol! Welcome to the madness. All in all, since you’re just casting a few parts I’d definitely use the search function on the forum and read all the threads on silver casting and sprueing.

1 Like