Looking for feedback on my setting

Wanting to get feedback on my pavé design.not quite sure the best way for using princess cuts. Maybe I should channel set? The prongs are little weird because I did them parametrically in Grasshopper. Also not sure if the stone should rest on top of the shank or float above it. Are the gaps between stones too large?

Well, I can tell you that it’s going to be hard to set. Not impossible.
You will not be able to get rid of the gap if you want to set Princess cut stones in prongs in rows like that.

1 Like

How close can I get with round stones? Would that be better? I have no experience setting a stone myself. How would you do it?

Do you mean you have no stone setting experience at all or that you have no experience setting en pavé? Because if you have no setting experience at all setting en pavé is not the way to begin as it is one of the more difficult types of setting.
If you intend to job the piece out to a setter then you should ask that setter’s advice, so the layout will be one he feels comfortable with.

5 Likes

I am a CAD designer working on my own and teaching myself. i have only a few months experience working in the jewelry industry (nine years ago). I use Shapeways and they outsource the casting and polishing, and I hire a couple of bench jewelers in the Diamond District who do soldering and setting. So I am all ears for advice and feedback.

This is what it looks like with round stones. there is a lot of gold peeping through, even if the prongs will be trimmed. I think I might try channel set.

Pardon the stones not sitting square in their seat. Had some scaling issues in ZBrush getting the boolean to work.

Hi Steve,

take a look at these 2 videos for insight as to how the stones are set…see how metal is removed, to “reveal” prongs…