Liver of sulphur crystals

I rarely apply a LOS finish to my work and when I do, I usually discover that my LOS gel is out of date. I am curious if anyone uses crystals and just makes it up as they need it? Do the crystals have a shelf life? Thanks…Rob

1 Like

I use the crystals and it works great. I only make as much as I need and I find using a heat gun helps it to take really well. When the metal is brought up to temperature it seems to work better.

I’ve only ever used crystals. Never saw the point of gel or other products. They’re easy to dissolve in some warm water and work well. And they shouldn’t have a shelf life that matters. It’s basically raw sulfide salts and I can’t imagine it’s likely to change much sitting in the can. I’ve had the same supply for nearly a decade…

2 Likes

I’m not a scientist, so I only know what I’ve been taught. The last time I bought liver of sulphur crystals was in the 1980’s or 90’s. Since then I’ve kept it sealed in a cool dark place and it’s still good as new. Meaning the LOS crystals are still a deep yellow, without any hint of gray.

I bought this LOS from a chemical supply house in the SF Bay Area called Bryant Labs. Bryant Labs not only specialized in serving the scientific community, but also the artist/jewlery/sculpture community for etching and patinas. Sadly, Bryant Labs is now out of business. When I picked it up decades ago, Bryant Labs explained to me that LOS degrades when it is exposed to light, oxygen or water. As far as I know, shelf life isn’t as important as how the LOS is stored. I’ll be honest, I’m amazed by how long these LOS crystals have retained their potency and yellow color, but I’ve consistently followed Bryant Labs instructions and have always kept it out of light and the container tightly sealed.

LOS crystals still work after they turn gray. Just not as well.