Link dimensions for curb chain

Hi all - Apologies for asking such a dense question. But I’m completely self-taught and have a lot of dumb questions while sitting here in my cave. :slight_smile: I want to try making some curb chain. And while I see a number of great postings in this forum about the technique, I’ve not yet found much guidance on good dimensions for the actual links. On a side note, I have a great book on loop-in-loop chain by Jean Reist Stark. I’ve made just about every chain style in her book. And she provides an excellent chart that lists minimum/maximum link diameter by wire gauge for each chain type. So that got me to wondering if there might be some similar guidance out there for making a curb chain? For example, if I were working with 12-gauge wire then there’s probably a practical minimal/maximum link diameter required to allow for the links to be twisted while the resulting chain is still supple but not too loose. Does anyone know if this data is published anywhere? If not, I’d sure appreciate some initial suggestions before I start the long process of trial and error until I figure out what works and what doesn’t!

This is something I also wondered when I started making chains. I’m sure there’s an exact formula but here’s how I do it and it’s worked so far. This process is for making a nice tight link with little inter link space.