Leather skin for bench…with hinged arms

Hi,

i just saw something interesting on mohsen.aslani ‘s instagram page…it looks like there is a leather skin…that is attached to hinged arms!…so that it reaches past the body!…genius!

i need to make something like this for my bench!

does anyone else have something similar? i would love to see your ideas!

i sit at my bench, with things jumping out of my hands, onto the floor…and then daydream about how i could solve this issue…

today i even thought about possibly attaching an upturned umbrella to my chair :rofl:

https://www.instagram.com/p/CttMAHZohqr/?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

julie

2 Likes

Ive been wanting to add one to mine. Tired of searching lol

Julie & Kimberly,
Back in the “old days” when I was an Apprentice, we wore Wide Leather Aprons that had (2) Ring-Hole Grommets (one on each lower corner of the Apron), that would slip over a curved nail or hook on each side of the inside knee-hole or bottom of the Bench, under the Pull-Out Drawer. This wouldn’t catch everything, especially the shoot-off into space projectiles, but anything that you dropped or slipped out of your pliers or fingers, typically was caught in your Leather Apron! Best thing is, that if your Soldering something and it pops and falls into your Leather Apron, it won’t burn through to your legs, as it would with a Fabric Apron! In Europe, many Bench Jewellers will have a Skin of Leather attached from side to side to the underside of their Bench, this skin will have Leather Thongs or Strings attached to the corners that you would pull around your waist and tie, thus achieving the same thing as the Leather Apron… I hope this helps…
Jonathan

5 Likes