Learning casting from scratch

Hello all!
I have no experience with jewellry and have a steep road ahead.
So far what I have done with respect to jewellery, is to design and 3d print a ring to my wife, so now I have to learn to build an investment mold and so on.
Naturally I have tons of questions, but will start gently I hope.

Are there an ideal delta temperature between the investment/mold and the molten metal?
(Small casts, less than one OzT)
Is it possible/advisabe to design/mix/modify your own investment?

Be gentle please :slight_smile:

Regards Per-Ove

PS!
I do hope this post are with in the correct topic, I was looking for a topic to introduce myself as it is done in the gold refinig forum, where I’m used to hang out, but could not find it.
I guess each forum has its own ways :slight_smile: -)

A good place to start (other than finding a mentor or a good workshop) would be purchasing a copy of Tim McCreights’ beautiful book “Practical Casting: A Studio Reference”. it is a very thorough treatment of the process, and should answer most of you questions. Additionally, it comes in a handy spiral bound edition that will lay flat on your work bench.

Thanks for the reply!
I will look into this, are there also any good online sources?
There are always a million things on the net, but it is hard for us newbees to sort out what is good and not.
Regards Per-Ove