Lace cast in metal

I use the lost wax casting method to cast lace in metal, mostly in brass but also in sterling silver. I have a background in ceramics and did a lot of clay casting in plaster of paris molds. There are similarities in the processes and it wasn’t too difficult to switch but I’m still learning with every casting session. I prefer casting the lace pieces directly in metal without making a mold. The lace appliques are destroyed in the process and I’ll only make a mold if its a rare vintage piece of lace. It’s very tricky as lace is very delicate and thin sections burn out and detail are lost. In the beginning I discarded castings where thin sections didn’t cast but now I believe that it is the raw, organic look of these lace castings which are making them unique and beautiful.

3 Likes

Your lace pieces are lovely. I have done a few pieces casting in lace with mixed results. I’ve had better success casting difficult things like lace and organics if I go over the lace from the back and strengthen the more delicate bits with wax to make them a bit thicker.

Janet Kofoed

Thank you. I dip the lace pieces in molten wax to strengthen the delicate fibres and then remove excess wax by putting the lace between 2 sheets of paper towel and ironing it. If the wax is too thick, detail will be lost and the piece will be heavy when cast in metal.

That’s how I did it too. I love the way lace looks in metal, and I had completely forgotten about it until i saw your pieces.

Janet

1 Like

Beautiful work,
I haven’t seen this done for years.
We used to have fellow send over Rhinoceros beetles from Africa, stored in formaldehyde (50 years ago… try doing that now…)
After the burnout, we would cool the flasks to room temp. Very gently blow air onto the flask to remove ash & debris. Re-heat very slowly… and cast in bronze.
We had a pretty good success rate.
The principle is the same.
Great job,
Jim

1 Like