Keum Boo and oxidizing

Question about Keum Boo. I’ve been doing this technique for several years. My question is about dipping the jewelry piece in Liver of Sulfur after doing the Keum Boo. My gold gets very dark in the liver of sulfur, and it looks terrible.Then I have to redo the Keum Boo process again to get shiner gold, and that means I am using twice the amount of gold than I need. Then I try to just touch up the silver a bit more with a brush dipped in liver of sulfer.

Why is the gold getting dark on me? I only leave the piece in the L.O.S. only long enough to darken the silver, maybe only about 20 seconds. Then I rinse, and dip in water with baking soda to stop the oxidation process, then rinse again.

Laurie

How long are you putting it into the liver of sulfur? You should be doing it briefly, removing and brushing w a brass brush snd repeat.

2 Likes

Also, how much are you using?

1 Like

Also found this:

1 Like

Like I said in my text, about 20 seconds. I don’t brass brush after. Didn’t know you should.

1 Like

Thank you for this link to another discussion. That helps.

Laurie

1 Like

Have you tried other oxidizers like Black Max with a brush on the silver only?

1 Like

Yes. Black Max is the worst on Keum Boo. It makes the gold very dark. I won’t use that on Keum Boo again unless I am able to paint the silver around the gold. Black Max is okay with regular gold though. I use that often.

Laurie

1 Like

Black Max is much more powerful than liver of sulphur. If you’re going to use that you’ll need to dilute with water.

That’s what I would suggest for liver of sulphur as well. Dilute it. I’d start with a weak solution, experiment and see what happens. My guess is that your liver of sulphur solution is too strong.

Pure gold is technically inert and shouldn’t be affected by liver of sulphur, but somehow the eutectic bonding process of Keum Boo is making your gold react.

Try that and let me know if it helps.

Thanks!

Jeff

2 Likes

Thanks Jeff,