Inherited deco findings from grandpa the jeweler

Hello community,

My grandfather passed away several years ago, but recently a family member passed the remnants of his former jewelry business to me. Included are approximately 50-75 different deco-style findings, bails, settings, hinge pieces and other decorative elements intended for reproduction casting. I know this because they are in an envelope which reads “20 each silver”

I am not sure what they are made of- seems to be metal though- and I would love to have them cast up, as he intended, in silver.

How does one pursue this? I have zero casting experience. I would prefer to send these off and have them come back reasonably soon- and I would like to have the originals preserved- not destroyed in process.

I am looking for recommendations for this type of service as well as some hints on what they could be made of.

Thanks ever so much!

Interested could you email me so we could talk by phone,Audrita

Hey thanks, unfortunately these are NOT for sale, but if you have any advice pertaining to reproduction I sure would love to see it posted here. Thank you for your interest though!

There are any number of casting houses which will make molds from the models and then cast multiples for you. It might be best to choose a firm that is close to where you live. If you can drop them off in person even better, as the folks there can explain the process to you, not that it is that complex.
As to what the models are made in… Most often model makers cast or fabricate their originals in silver, but I know of one jeweler who made all his models in platinum. When he retired he sold them for scrap, and the price had risen so much during the years that he made a pretty profit on the models alone. It is unlikely yours are platinum.

Thanks Elliot,