Ingot molds and the little torch

So far I used a charcoal block, carved in different ways, to pour the molten metal from the scorifier. I am considering acquiring an ingot mold and I have a few questions here:

1. For multiple options, I think a combination ingot mold might be the best option long term (for both wire and sheet). Why would one buy an open ingot mold instead?
  2. I have a little torch, without the rose bud since I am using a disposable cylinder with a Smith regulator. Is the largest tip enough to heat up the ingot mold enough?
2 Likes

I did the same thing with the charcoal when first starting. I still mostly use my Little Torch and melt up to 3oz. with the number 7 tip. (It’s either 5 or 7. It’s the biggest one before the rosebud tip.) If I’m going to do a big melt, I go to my big torch.
I’ve always used the cast iron ingot mold with the 4 round wire ports on the top and you can re-configure to make flat sheet. I have been using mine for at least 20 years.
I’m not sure your fuel will do a melt. Do you have oxygen and fuel? If you have only fuel, I don’t know. In all cases, have fun!

3 Likes

Thanks for the answer.

I do use oxy propane for the little torch. So a number 7 tip should be enough for heating up the ingot mold?

As for the metal, it worked every time for what I do. Not even a single piece remained unmolten :blush:

2 Likes