How to make these shaped wires?!

Hiii! Been trying to figure just how these beautiful sharp shaped “v” wires are produced! I assumed you used the method of filing a bit of the wire at the bend you’ll be making so that you get a crisp bend, then from there hammer hammer hammer and file file file? The thing is, I’ve done this and either:
A) snapped the wire in two at the bend(assuming I didnt anneal and got carried away with the hammering?)
B) the wire flared out at all the wrong places
C) everything went wrong that could…

I’m new to this process and cant find any info to help. Any advice as far as hammering or the filing or ANYTHING like I said. I’m ASSUMING these are the things needed to produce these effects…please correct me if I’m wrong!!!

These look to be not one wire bent into a V but two wires mitered and soldered.

3 Likes

C) everything went wrong that could…

Welcome to the real world eh?

Verysharp bends can be achieved by filing almost completely through the wire, filing away with enough relief to the cut to close to correct angle, and then soldering the joint.
Practice, practice, practice.
Sharper, more exact angles can be achieved by cutting through completely, filing to fit perfectly, and then soldering. A true PITA, but you will get the best results. The wire needs to be measured correctly.

2 Likes

I am not a production jeweler, but specialize in repair. My expertise is more in finding a way to reproduce a match or mate for half pair of earrings, or producing a copy of an existing piece, for family to share.
I enjoy the challenge of always changing projects and challenges. I could never get in to production, but I do enjoy studying a piece of jewelry, and finding a way to either rebuild or reproduce that item.

@Elliot_Nesterman
…GENIUS!!! I would have never ever thought of that! Thank you so very much. And tips on getting them to the point where they are ready to be joined/soldered?