Hammers Made in NA

Hi.
I am looking to purchase some forging and planishing hammers online that are made in North America. I’m not looking for $250 artisan type hammers, just some commercial type hammers I can start out with in a little home studio. Any suggestions or sites in the US or Canada would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Laura

3 Likes

Hi

In case anyone is interested…

these are $200+, but here is another link to beautiful hammers hand made in the USA.

p.s, NC black delrin head hammers are a pure joy!

julie

3 Likes

Thanks folks. The first look like interesting options. I’m not sure the naming of those as I’m new to hammers and they’re named after hammer makers. The 2nd are also beautiful but a bit outside my budget.
I’m trying to put together a studio from stuff I’ve made or recycled, stuff bought ‘locally’. I’m on the Canada/US border so my clients all come from the US or Canada.
I’ve been able to make or source lots of tools made in NA but an affordable hammer has been elusive. There’s some on Amazon made in the US but I’d rather buy from a smaller company. Thanks for the suggestions.

1 Like

When I started making jewelry, my first hammer was a medium weight ball peen hammer that I bought for $1.00 at a yard sale. I could forge with one end and texture with the other. It was the only hammer that I used for maybe 35 years until I bought some fairly inexpensive Peddinghaus forging and planishing hammers. I still use the old hammers as much as the new ones. The key is to keep them ground and polished to a shape that serves your needs. Regardless of where they come from, hammers need to be maintained or what is on the hammer face gets transferred to the metal you are moving with it. You shouldn’t have any trouble finding a USA made hammer. Good luck…Rob

3 Likes

Thanks Rob.