Granulation on tubing

Hi! I am new to Ganoksin, but I’m hoping to share ideas and continue my self-learning here.

I am interested in where to get specific information on processes and procedures used to granulate on small 22k gold tubes. I e made a chain and want the end caps to be decorated with granulation.

I think that once I’ve formed the tubes and balls, I need to copper plate them both- but even that I am not sure about. Maybe I just need to copper plate the balls and enrich the tubing??? That sounds more correct
This I need to better understand the process. Specifically though tips on how to do it on tubes-please!

You don’t copper plate anything. The granules are adhered to the surface with an adhesive solution of an organic gum mixed with a copper salt. As the piece is heated the gum oxidizes creating a reducing environment which frees the copper from the salt so it can bond to the gold.
There are lots of good books which explain the process. Reading any one of them is preferable to trying to learn it from online tips and tricks.
Also, you should start by learning on flat pieces. Once you have developed your technique so you have reliable success, then move to objects in the round.

1 Like