Goldsmithing Use of Cyanide

Greetings! This is my first time to post a question to all of you - please excuse any breach of etiquette! Does anyone have any detailed references or procedures for how cyanide was used in goldsmithing - either currently or historically? My limited information says it was involved in the cleaning/polishing(?) phase. Is this true, and if so how specifically? Thank you in advance fir your responses! Paul Smith

Cyanide is used in “bombing” to give gold pieces a thin layer of pure gold. Any older jewelry text would detail the process…IDK if it is used that much anymore or not, as I don’t work in gold. Basically you put the jewelry into a solution of potassium cyanide and then pour in some peroxide and this leads to an effusion of cyanide gas and a boilover, hence the name bombing. The process actually removes some gold and leaves a clean, pure gold layer. This should be done under a fume hood or outside, as cyanide gas is released. -royjohn

2 Likes

Thank you for taking the time to reply to my question. That was very helpful! Thanks, Paul

We’ve used it in a similar fashion to what Roy said, but with putting the cyanide in a beaker, and hooking it up to our plating rectifier (iirc, with the anode and cathode reversed compared to normal plating). This essentially ‘electro-strips’ the piece. We really only do that when something went wrong in casting or during a torch operation that left oxidation in an impossible to reach area.
We have the need to do it maaaaybe once a year, if even that, but it’s super handy when it’s needed.

I have and still use cyanide. Mostly for plating purposes. Most gold and silver plating solutions are made of cyanide with the gold or silver “salts” suspended in them. It is also used for electro striping and cleaning. Sadly it is also still used for extracting gold from ore. Cyanide process | metallurgy | Britannica