Gold pricing

I’m building a custom opal ring in 14k. Does anyone have a recommendation on how to decide inn bezel thickness, ring shank thickness? I want to make money obviously but I also want the customer to be delighted at the gold weight of the piece. Any insight would be helpful!

Also, I’m dealing with a lot of fatigue at the moment so if my question needs more context or info please let me know!

Opals are fragile, so think about how you will be moving the bezel to keep from damaging the stone. You might also consider an open back. Otherwise, it is up to you. Personally, I like to see opals in a simple light settings made from yellow gold with an emphasis on the opal, but I am a mechanic not a designer. Good luck…Rob

1 Like

I’m not sure how to comment on the ring shank? It really depends on the design. For the bezel though remember that 14 kt bezel doesn’t bend over easily, especially compared to fine silver. 28 ga is a common thickness.

A lot of times I’ll end up hammering a gold bezel to get it flush against a stone with either a hammer and punch or a hammer hand piece.

I know that opals crack easily, but once you’ve had enough practice, hammering a bezel is often safer that pushing it with a bezel pusher.

No matter what setting technique that you use, you’ve got to be careful!

What is the size and shape of the opal and finger size? That also affects the answer to your question.

Jeff

2 Likes

Hi,

would a 22k bezel strip work…?…they are pretty…

bezel shank…1.5 at the bottom…1.8-2.0 at the sides…?

julie

2 Likes

Definitely. This is a ring that serves to celebrate the natural beauty of the stone.

Thank you @jeffg-moderator thos very helpful. I was oscillating between .3 and .5 mm bezel thickness. But your comment about the natural toughness(compared to silver) helps inform that decision.

Always appreciate you.

I would LOVE to do 22k but this ring won’t be the one. That size shank is very close to what I was thinking as well. Thank you so much.