Gemology question

Hello Everyone,

I am a GIA graduate in Gemology, Diamonds and Colored Stones I am currently identifying some stones that were donated to a non-profit I volunteer with here in Seattle. Does anyone know the laws or requirements, about selling second hand stones in the USA i.e. specific requirements for certification of said stones? Maybe there are none? I would just like to find out.

Ellen Lyons

If you get an answer to this question please share. I’ve been given some stones and am curious about how to move forward with them.

HI Ellen,
It’s a free country, you can sell anything you want. The issue would be more what you call it. If it is specifically called a particular species (sapphire, garnet, etc.), then if it isn’t that the buyer could return it or perhaps even make some complaint on you or sue you, call fraud, etc. If you call it natural rather than synthetic, then it ought to be that. If you measure the stone or weigh it, those should be accurate. If you specify a certain clarity level, that should be correct. I have never seen any exact specs on color ratings, and these are a matter of judgment, so you have some leeway there, altho’ you shouldn’t call a green sapphire blue. You are basically on the hook for a return and refund if your stone is not as you claimed, which is an argument for not claiming too much. It is probably a good idea to put a time limit on returns, but IDK how valid that will be if you are actually completely incorrect about your description and the stone is not what you say it is.

Just a point of clarification - there actually is a color standard for describing gemstones. As a Graduate Gemmologist, I use a set of about 200 samples called a gem set which define colors as hue, saturation and tone.
judy h