First pair of Argentium silver earrings

This was the first time I used Argentium silver and I think it’s better than the sterling. One thing I noticed was it didn’t have firescale after soldering (I soldered the ear pin after drilling the holes and all the surfaces remained as shiny as before). The finish was also easier and it was more consistent throughout the surface.

I want to ask your opinion on this pair that I just finished. It’s set with swarovski stones (2mm).

12 Likes

These are exquisite! Beautifully done.

Denny

1 Like

Those are really beautiful!

1 Like

Lovely design, great craftsmanship!

Neil

1 Like

Oh, thank you! I didn’t exactly expect this kind of feedback as I am still a beginner (almost 4 years since I’ve started learning). Planning on opening a small studio but for now it is still for friends only :blush: this gives me hope customers might like what I do. Thanks again!

3 Likes

Very nice work.

1 Like

That is such a wonderful setting job that I find myself wanting to see it even closer! I wonder what our resident old timers would say about bead setting in silver, as I think I’ve heard that it doesn’t wear well. I doubt that that is completely true. I would think that set as yours are within this rim it will wear very well. Would love to see more of your work. I think you are ready for prime time! I’m quite impressed! -royjohn

3 Likes

Careful with Argentium… do not overwork it ( acid, polishing, sand or bead blasting, etc) after casting as it sheds easily its germanium content, leaving mostly silver on the surface… then it can tarnish as usual. Your setting is fantastic and don’t worry, it will last. But… why spend so much time on fake stones Practicing?

2 Likes

Thank you for your feedback.

Yes, still practicing. But if it were you, what stones would you choose instead? Diamonds?

As for Argentium, from my limited experience, it looks better than sterling (when finished is almost like platinum) and is more fire friendly.

2 Likes