Dissatisfied with liver of sulfur, how do you do it?

I’m a newb in jewelry making and silver clay and kind of frustrated with the patina process. Every time I have tried liver of sulfur I have come away disappointed. It either refuses to turn black and I end up with a gun metal grey no matter how long it sits or how concentrated, or just plain looks ugly as seen in my picture. I see pieces that are done with it and they look good, I just don’t get it.

I’ve followed a number instructions, it doesn’t seem that complicated, you add to some water and dip, maybe do a few gradual dips etc… then polish off the highlights.

You can see from the pic, the one I did in LOS is simply awful, maybe the ugliest thing I have ever produced. I believe I have ruined this piece.

The big question is, for textured pieces like this, what is a better way to end up with highlights shiny but recessed areas darkened so the piece “pops”? Mine doesn’t pop, it looks like it was dug up out of the mud.

Thanks in advance for any practical tips.

Cheers!

Hi there,

I love LOS best because I think it has a “warmer” tone than the silver Black, or Black Max (which my friends all love and swear by!)

A few tips I have learned along the way.

works well if heated (I use hot, but not boiling hot)

(I place a small jar of the appropriate amount of water (for the LOS solution), into a coffee cup with water (to surround the jar),and place this cup on a small electric mug warmer)

(I use hot water from my kitchen faucet)

too hot, or too strong a solution, and the layer will get too thick(?) and flake off in patches)

I like to put piece on a paper towel, on a paper plate, and use a q-tip to apply warm LOS until I get the color I am aiming for.

I have two paper cups filled with cool water, to successively dip the piece into, to stop the action, when the desired color is achieved.