Diamond Setting Technique: Modified, Cut-Down

This process of setting is basically a great setting technique for wedding bands . It is rather a simple & easy pattern to create. But one thing, this is not for the hobbyist or absolute beginner in Gemstone Setting, so very sorry!

This setting process took me many years to perfect and went through many variations all trying to achieve what you are about to learn & observe today ! Some aspects of my earlier versions are still being used, but I’m trying to make it less difficult for you to learn!

The Scale of Difficulty is about an 9.5 out of 10. There will be many times you will be frustrated in your results, but this is your fantastic “Learning Curve”.

Previous experience in using a Graver: This is now estimated at 3-4 years (or more)!

"Frustration Level’ is rated at 15 out of 10!

What tools do you need:

Graver #1, or #2 with a rounded tip. .(this will be shown at the end of this photographic essay!

Very wide Flat graver (estimated) at #42 in width!

Flat Graver of #40 for all of the flat bright-cutting …all are to be shown in this essay!

"Inside-ring clamp" this ‘clamp acts like a vise’ and not allowing any side-movement while setting!

Graver #1 for initial cutting around the ‘wire-hooking, mini-claws’ that will hold the stone!

Bud-shaped burs: I suggest #006 & #008.

100% Patience is required:

On the two vertical lines, I use a bud bur #006 just beside the round stone hole!

In this photograph, you can see just where the #006 bud-shaped bur is starting to cut . Please make one cut…DEEP! A lot of aggressive graver work will be stemming from this one bud-bur cut

Just continue from one side of the ring to the other, but make it DEEP! Once the bud-burring has been accomplished, place your stone in the desired hole for securing!