Creating 18K Gold Alloy

Hi everyone. I’m an amateur foundryman looking for advice and tips for an upcoming project. I have experience melting and casting fine silver but very little experience working with alloys and fine jewelry in general.

The project is to cast an 18k white gold engagement ring for which I will to propose to my girlfriend later this year.

I’ve been in contact with a local jeweler who will do final polishing, rhodium plating, and setting of the stones. My scope of work is to bring him a cast ring clean enough to work with.

The ring will be cast with gold/palladium alloy. I am not a registered professional or wholesaler so buying premade 18k palladium casting grain is far beyond affordable. Purchasing 24k casting grain and palladium master alloy grain separately is much more affordable and most likely the path I’ll take for the project.

Some questions I have to get started:

1. When melting and casting a palladium master alloy, can I use a standard equipment? Ie oxyacetylene torch, ceramic crucible, borax flux, kaya cast machine?

2. Should I use a platinum investment or will a standard investment do the job? I currently have R&R ULTRAVEST and Plasticast investment powders on hand.

3. When alloying the metals, are there any special deoxidizing agents or chemicals I need to use?

Any advice and pointers for my project would be greatly appreciated! This is my first attempt at something like this.

1 Like

Hi!