Cracked sterling in hollow form

Hi all. I make a lot of hollow forms. I’ve made plenty in sterling, but today, one of them cracked all the way around. (I’m a new jeweler, btw). I want to first say that quenching hollow forms sort of feels like petting a dog’s fur backward to me. Just feels yucky. Because of thermal fracturing. Anyway, I usually quench because we were taught to quench. The holes in my forms are usually part of the design, so, usually large or in multiples, so, plenty of openings for steam/gas to escape. Today my form just had a drill hole in it. Something I usually never do because a plain drill hole is boring. I’m not sure why my form cracked (it’s not argentium, it’s sterling), because several variables were happening all at once: 1) I usually work with 18 gauge silver, but have been working with 22 gauge to experiment with a lighter-weight metal for my forms, with much success so far until today, and today, the lid to my piece was 18 gauge, but the sides and bottom were 22 gauge 2) my hole was made with a #52 drill bit 3) I quenched immediately after soldering, even though everything inside me was screaming to let it air cool, at least for a few minutes. Now that I think of it, there is no reason to quench my hollow forms because they won’t be further shaped so they don’t need to be malleable.

SO, do you think that the metal cracked from thermal shock when quenching, the contrast in metal gauges, or from the hole being too small? I would love any advice, thoughts or opinions. I’m at the sponge stage of my learning and I file every bit of information away as I move along my new and very thrilling path. Everyone here has been doing this for ages, and I value your experience. THANK YOU!

2 Likes

If I am understanding what you described, I believe that when you quenched your piece steam was created inside and the hole you drilled wasn’t big enough to handle the expanding steam and the weakest part gave way.
Stv

3 Likes