Concave cone burs

I can’t seem to find any examples of people working with these (reviews/tutorials). In photos they look just like a cup bur, but I’m looking for a quick and easy way to make little spikes out of a wire end (10-14ga) or a soldered-on ball for edgy/rock n’ roll designs. I primarily work in sterling, but sometimes fine silver and brass/bronze as well. Can anyone with first hand experience describe the finished shape these leave and if they’re what I’m looking for? Specifically, I am considering the Busch® Tungsten Vanadium Twincut Concave Cone Bur at Rio and I’d like to keep my costs as low as possible as I am an amateur doing experiments.

1 Like

I live close to this tool supplier. 've gotten the tool in this link from them n as large as 1 gauge. Contact them and see i you can get the size you want. No need to buy expensive burs, and no electricity needed. They work perfectly. I use them when I do ear ring wires.

But what shape does it leave? It looks like the standard cup bur, which is not what I’m looking for. As I said in my post, I want to make spikes, not just round off an end.

Could you just put your lengths of wire in a flex shaft or drill and grind (spin the wire against a flat surface) on sandpaper at an angle?

I don’t think I’ve seen a bur that leaves a sharp tip and I can’t imagine many use cases justifying their production. But if you just want to make a bunch of tapered spiked wires this is what I would do. Saves you from having to file each individual wire by hand and probably makes quick work of shaping and polishing your tapered spiked.

4 Likes