Colored pencil or paint on sterling or base metals

I’m rather new to making jewelry and trying out many techniques trying to find my niche. I love color and would like to experiment with colored pencils or paint. Has anyone had feedback from customers regarding how well pencil and paint stand up over time? I’d hate to spend time on learning the technique just to find out it doesn’t wear well.

A second question: Does anyone have an in-depth reference for either the pencil or paint technique? (other than Ganoksin of course!)

Many thanks

Rita

@REDesigns, Tim McCreight and Nicole Bsullak wrote a book on this, “Color On Metal”, ISBN 1-893164-06-3. The copyright is 2001 so you may need to look for used copies. Hits do turn up on a web search of the ISBN.

Regards,
Neil A

Deb Karash does beautiful work through a process of applying color using colored pencils on metal. Check out her work here http://www.debkarash.com/. She also gives classes in the technique she uses and may possibly be a good resource for you to consider.

3 Likes

Watch dials are pretty ordinary white (or other colors) lacquer on which numbers have been printed. They stand up well for many years. There are also now literally dozens of ways to put paint on metal so it is relatively permanent, not least of epoxy based paints and enamels. This might be something to explore.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. Any surface coloring will wear off. It’ll hold up on earrings and pendants better than on rings. Also if you color recessed areas they should hold up longer than exposed surfaces.
Even vitreous enamel will suffer with heavy wear.
So color away and have fun with it, but be sure to inform your customers about the wearability issues.
Jo Haemer
www.timothywgreen.com

1 Like