Choosing a rawhide mallet?

I finally sprung for a membership here because I have a question which probably should be very simple, but I’m stumped. My $5 craft store nylon mallet is finally coming apart, and I decided I’d like to upgrade to a nice rawhide mallet. Thing is, I have no idea how to choose one. Rio offers either lead-filled or plain rawhide, and several sizes/weights for each. I understand the general concept of the lead-filled, but I’m not sure if or how it might offer an advantage over the plain. And once I’ve narrowed that down, how do I decide on weight? Is heavier better, or should I start with something in the middle until I develop my own tastes?

(For context I am in my second year of silversmithing, having learned on my own with the help of various online resources, books, etc. No access to in-person classes or mentoring for the time being.)

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

1 Like

Ganoksin Orchid is one of most reliable sources of jewellery information. I for one, have been an author here for nearly 20 years. You made a very wise decision in joining ‘us’.
If you want some information on Diamond Setting. I’ve written a few (127) essays in my blog and many more to follow, I’m not bragging one iota!
We, “as a group”, are here to help you and everyone. Here is my blog address:
gerrysdiamondsettingessays.blogspot.com
Enjoy yourself…:wink:

“Gerry, on my insanely busy, iPhone”

1 Like

Attached should be a picture of my rawhide hammer. It is at least forty years old. In that time I have made hundreds of heavy bracelets, each formed with this hammer. It is 10" long and the head is, or was, about 1.5" in diameter with no lead filling. I can’t imagine needing any more than this hammer. I will say that I have started to partially form bracelets on my hydraulic press using forming tools, but they are finished on a mandrel using this hammer. Good luck…Rob

2 Likes