Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Celebration Of Life Jewellery Design Awards


The Tanzanite Foundation Announces The Winners Of
The First Tanzanite ‘Celebration Of Life’ Jewellery Design Awards

The Tanzanite Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the
first Tanzanite ‘Celebration of Life’ Jewellery Design Awards. The
outstanding response to the Awards which attracted world class
designers from over 20 countries was a tribute to the industry’s
passion for this uniquely African gemstone. The designs were judged
on their interpretation of the theme ‘Be Born To Tanzanite’, beauty,
practicality and originality. The international scope of the awards
was evident throughout the 5 design categories: Luxury Brands,
Independent Designers, Fashion Accessories, Manufacturers / Retailers
and Rising Stars.

The US winners, among them Maria Canale, who designs for leading US
luxury jewellery brands, and Kwiat, renowned for the refined elegance
of their collections, successfully captured the classical spirit of
American design. Cutting edge British designers Stephen Webster,
Shaun Leane and Johnny Rocket brought their contemporary style
sensibilities to their winning designs. The European designers
excelled with their technical skills and ability to pioneer new ways
of working with precious materials. The Brazilian designers exuded
sensuality and sexiness with their avant-garde designs. Louis
Mariette, the flamboyant milliner, was uniquely creative in the
Fashion Accessories category with his grand headpiece. Stuart
Weitzman, shoe designer to the stars, collaborated with Le Vian to
create a magnificent tanzanite bejewelled shoe worthy of any
Hollywood red carpet event. Two winners in the Rising Star category,
Arabel Lebrusan and Claire Woolley hail from the internationally
renowned design college, Central St. Martins where Alexander McQueen
and Stella McCartney also began their careers. Another talented
Rising Star is the brilliant Sabine Roemer who is currently the only
woman in the UK building a career designing and handcrafting bespoke

A panel of expert judges from the worlds of fashion and jewellery
collaborated to select the final winning designs. Judges included:
Peter Maddick, who developed the International Awards for Debeers,
Marcella Martinelli; fashion and jewellery stylist; Leo De Vroomen,
award winning jewellery designer; Sian Evans, jewellery tutor at
Central St. Martins College and Sarah Hancock, editor of TJF
magazine, who commented “It was a great day - fun, interesting,
challenging and an honour to be asked to judge the first Tanzanite
Awards. The designs were of a high standard and it was often a
difficult choice. However, all the winners were the most original,
exciting designs in their category and showed tanzanite’s depth of
colour in really fresh ways. I’m looking forward to seeing the
winning jewels when they are produced.”

A prestigious Awards ceremony will take place at the New York Public
Library on January 22nd, 2007 to honour and celebrate the winning
collection. This final collection will be showcased at the Awards
presentation before embarking on a travelling tour of the major
international trade shows, renowned galleries and museums.

On behalf of the Tanzanite Foundation we would like to congratulate
all of the winning designers and participants for their outstanding
creativity and interpretation of the theme ‘Be Born To Tanzanite’.

The winning collection comprises 23 pieces:

Luxury Brand

Kwiat - USA
Stephen Webster - UK
Shaun Leane - UK
Boodles - UK
Talento Joias - BRAZIL

Independent Designer

Heidi Benz - GERMANY
Maria Canale - USA
Laurance Ratinaud - FRANCE
Sevan Bicakci - TURKEY
Rodrigo Robson - BRAZIL

Fashion / Accessories

Louis Mariette - UK
Stuart Weitzman for Le Vian, USA
Johnny Rocket - UK

Manufacturer / Retailer

Ruth Grieco - BRAZIL
Charlotte Ehinger - Schwarz 1876 - GERMANY
Guenevere Dizon - PHILLIPINES
Colin Waylett - SPAIN
David Zoltan - USA

Rising Star

Arabel Lebrusan - UK
Sabine Roemer - UK
Claire Woolley - UK
Shah Harshmi Shantilal - INDIA
James Powell - UK

For further please contact:

Alex Duxbury