Casting hollow balls with decorative cutouts - Advice needed!

Hello,

I must say that this is my first time asking a question on the Orchid. Usually if I have any queries workshop related I find everything, but this is something I would love and really appreciate some advice or tips on…

End result needed
hollow ball with decorative cut outs.

My process up to now
I have two silicone moulds with each half of the sphere which is wax injected. These models I lost wax vacuum cast in silver. I then have to solder the two halves together at the end which is extremely time consuming.

My question
Is there a way where I could join the two halves of the sphere wax models together prior to lost wax casting as to avoid having to solder them??? Of course without losing any of the decorative wire rim details.

Thank you in advance for any help!

You could join the two halves with small dobs of hot wax prior to investing, but you’ll have great difficulty cleaning the insides after casting.
If you add a couple of keys to the halves so that they mate without slipping, soldering them will be much easier. You can use any sort of locking tweezers to hold them together when soldering, and the keys will keep them from slipping.

1 Like

Thank you Elliot.

The dobs of wax would probably ruin the details. The spheres are only 8mm in diameter so the insides are small and wouldn’t need much or any cleaning up apart from getting the investment out. Could one half of the wax model be touched on a hot plate and then quickly joined to the other?
The keys are a great idea and would definitely help with soldering if that is still what I would have to do in the end.