Casting gold and silver

What is the best way to melt an alloy of gold, silver, oxygen and gas, or an electric furnace is better?

Zakaria,

So, casting. This is a big subject in the world of metal art work, and there is a ton of nuances to it, but to keep it simple it’s all about getting a quality casting when you’re done. So what is a quality casting? Getting a piece (or pieces) that fills completely, is nice and dense - in other words without any porosity, oxidation (fire stain), doesn’t have any impurities in it (e.g. carbon), or “warts” and other surface imperfections.

That said, the recommendations I make here are based upon the methods I have used during my 45 years of casting experience working in a small shop. There are casting methods both low tech (low cost equipment) and higher tech (high cost equipment) that I haven’t used that do a great job.

I was taught initially how to do lost wax investment casting where the metal is melted using a torch fueled by either acetylene and compressed oxygen, or a propane/oxy set up. I have also used natural gas/oxygen. I have also used an electric melt furnace. They all work well, but which is the cleanest method in order to prevent porosity and oxidation? In order from cleanest to “dirtiest”: electric melt furnace, propane/oxy, natural gas/oxy, acetylene/oxy. Why?