Can any one suggest how to separate stainless steel shot from non stainless steel shot. Accidentally combined in new vibratory tumbler

Help! I inadvertently mixed stainless steel shot with the original non stainless steel shot that came with my vibratory tumbler which I bought in 1980 when I was a student.
I don’t think they had stainless steel shot back then.
I am using the special burnishing compound which i understand protects the shot.
Can any body suggest how I can separate them ?

Did you try a strong magnet?

Aurora

Yes, that was my thought, too. Not all stainless is non-magnetic, but there should be a difference in the attraction vs non-stainless and this might be a way to separate them if it is somewhat magnetic. Maybe roll them across an incline into the path of the magnet…otherwise it’s going to be a laborious process of looking at the color difference and separating by eye one by one…if they were different sizes, stone sieves might separate the round ones, at least…

1 Like

Let it rust, but that kind of defeats your hoped outcome.

The stainless I have used is all non magnetic. So get a magnet and give it a go. Magnets are good holders of tools in the shop so you can always use one or more.

Thank you Aurora and Royjohn - I need to find a strong magnet!

Definitely going to get a magnet and hope my new shot is good quality SS!

Use a magnet, Most stainless steel will not be attracted to a magnet.

the magnet is the best answer!
But to remove the steel-shot is a problem, wrap the magnet in a thin towel, remove the towel. None of those pesky & irritating nodules will stick to the magnet, from experience, this works all of the time!

gerrysdiamondsettingessays.blogspot.com

Gerry, on my iPhone

2 Likes

That’s brilliant Gerry! Makes such sense too.
Thank you.