[Call for nominees] Contributor to gemology award

Call for Nominations

for the Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology The
Accredited Gemologists Association is calling for nominations for
The Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology. Named in
honor of its founding father for his many contributions to the
gemological field and his work to establish and maintain high
professional standards, past recipients of this prestigious award
include: this Dr. Henry Hanni of Switzerland; Alan Hodgkinson and
Alan Jobbins of the United Kingdom; Richard W. Hughes of Thailand;
CR Beesley, Robert Crowningshield, John Koivula, Antoinette Matlins,
Shane McClure, Jim Shigley, and Chris Smith of the United States. The
award consists of a specially commissioned bronze plaque, along with
a specially commissioned medallion and check for $2,000. Winners are
announced each year in Tucson, Arizona, at a Gala Awards Ceremony and
Dinner- Dance held at the conclusion of the AGA Gemological
Conference. This year’s conference and award ceremony will be held on
February 2, 2011, during the Tucson International Gem Fair.

The sole requirement for this award, which is international in scope,
is that the candidate must have made a significant contribution to
the field of gemology, or defended and upheld gemological standards
in a way that has significantly benefited the gem and jewelry
community. Accomplishments can be in the field of education,
research, instrumentation, or the discovery of innovative techniques
or practices that can be applied to gemological procedures or
standards. To nominate someone for the Antonio C. Bonanno Award for
Excellence in Gemology, please write a brief background statement
(200 words or less) about the candidate and why you think this award
is merited. Send your nomination, along with your own name and
contact to: AGA Award Committee, c/o G-Force Services,
3315 Juanita Street, San Diego, CA 92105, or fax to 480-247-5958.
Nominations can also be made online, on the AGA website,
www.accreditedgemologists.org. Nominations for this year’s award must
be received by October 30, 2010. For more about the
Antonio C. Bonanno Award and Gala Award Ceremony, or to learn more
about the AGA conference or membership in the AGA, please visit the
AGA website or call (619) 501-5444.