Buying gold from the UK

Hi all. I’m an amateur interested in trying my hand at 18K gold. It looks like I need a business registration to buy gold in the USA, so I was checking out Cookson in the UK; they seem to sell to individuals. If I can avoid paying VAT it might be workable. So… a couple of questions: First, do you think I’m being silly for trying gold? It’s just to make some earrings for my wife. Second, am I asking for complications by trying to import precious metals? I’d love some input.

Are you sure about that? I’m pretty sure that anyone with a credit card can buy gold from riogrande.com. My students buy gold from Rio Grande all of the time.

Jeff

I missed the second part of your question about working with gold. When working with gold, especially for the first time, you don’t want to make any mistakes. I almost always recommend making an exact prototype or two in silver.

Hope that helps!!

Jeff

For 18K, the largest I can find in sheet is 1/4 inch by 0.5 mm at Rio (I’m bilingual for measurements, sorry). Other sellers that have larger sheet ask for some business registration or EID. And, yes, for sure I’ll make prototypes! I even prototype in copper for challenging silver designs (challenging for me, that is). My goal is to make some simple earrings with hammered textures; nothing fancy. Careful as you go, I say! And at the same time, dazzle the spouse.

TBH, she’s been very good about me buying tools and taking over a room for my hobby, so I’d like to acknowledge that with something a little different. I’m thinking something primitive-looking like these silver earrings I made for my nieces.
IMG_3355

Is this what you’re taking about?

It seems like it would work. 18 kt is heavier and more expensive, so a little lighter should be a good thing for earrings.

Jeff