Business Licensing Preference List?

Happy New Year!

For those that Do Not have a “brick and mortar” establishment and sell their created jewelry from home via online or in person (wholesale, shows, custom, etc.), what decision did you come to in terms of business licensing (Sole Prop, LLC, Corp)?

Are there specific reasons you chose one over the other (good/bad experiences, perceived future, etc)?

I understand the differences between them and purposes they serve, but I thought a list might be beneficial not only to me, but anyone Searching for comparative insight within this specific niche.

I was wholesale then opened a brick and mortar retail store and have recently gone back to wholesale and jeweler by appointment out of a studio. I have always been an LLC. I can’t tell you why other than thats what my accountant said I should do. I am a bench jeweler, he has the accounting degree. He doesn’t tell me how to set diamonds and I hire him and do what he says. If you want to be in business and your not an accountant or don’t have a business degree then go find one and talk to them.

1 Like

Unlike a Sole Proprietorship or an LLC, a corporation is an entity, and as such, it files a tax return. Therefore, until it’s final tax return is filed, you will be filing your personal tax return and the corporation’s tax return. If you pay someone to prepare your tax return, you will be paying for two separate tax returns.

A corporation has the ability to spread losses over several years on it’s tax return, thus you can offset corporate income in fat years for a number of consecutive years before and after the year of loss.

The disadvantage of an LLC or Sole Proprietorship is that you can offset income with losses only in the year the loss occurs.

The “corporate veil”, which shields shareholders from responsibility for corporate liabilities is not a sure thing. Do not depend on it.