Bur problem. What am I doing wrong?

What I’m doing wrong here? I don’t use burs regularly, but I’m not new to using them either. This is the first time I’ve experienced this:

1a

For scale, these will be seats for 5mm stones. I used a bud bur to enlarge the drilled holes, as in the one at 4 O’Clock. Then I used a very coarse-toothed ball bur which resulted in the hole at 8 O’Clock. Same thing happened at 12 O’Clock, which was smoothed out with a 90* bearing bur. All this using a flex-shaft.

These are all new burs. The only thing I did this time that I’ve never done before was to use cutting oil as a lubricant. I don’t know why that would cause this though.

Finally I switched to using a pin vise with the bearing bur, which smoothed everything out. But why did this happen? Too fast on the flex-shaft? Too slow? The cutting oil? Blame it all on the ball bur?

Neil A

1 Like

While I’m not sure what causes it, I’ve had similar problems sporadically over the years. I’ve discovered the best rememdy (at least in my case) is a much higher speed and a very light touch. Once it’s smoothed out, it seems to be fine to cut again, but that’s just my experience.

I’ll be curious to hear what others say on this since as well

Erich

I find this also happens when the bur is new. What would I do? Just start
keeping your bur cutting lightly as you are having the bur touch the metal,
but keeping your bur well oiled. Don’t dig the bur into the metal at
first…go gently, letting the teeth cut but don’t (repeat) put any heavy
weight into this new bur! DON’T SPEED UP YOUR BUR as this might be the
problem too!

*Gerry Lewy *
Toronto.

Hi Niel,
Most of what I make uses industrial engineering tools and machinery, so from that background and knowhow, (sadly lacking in many bench jewellers), i know what your problem is.
Your getting tool chatter, on account of too many teeth, or cutting edges on your burr. once it starts its difficult to reverse on account of the above…