Brass melting help

Noob here. Trying to melt a small amount of brass and need some help!

-6cm diameter clay crucible on a stack of ceramic tiles
-bernzomatic ts8000 and portable map tank.
-warmed the crucible for 30 seconds or a minute (not very long)
-Tried to melt 1/2 a tsp of brass granules for about 5 full minutes at max heat with the bernzomatic

The granules got red hot and then the color diminished. I’ve included a picture of my setup below.

Any help would be much appreciated. Again - total noob.

IMG_0972

You don’t say what you will be doing with the melted brass. Whatever you intend to do, you need to have your mold (charcoal, closed steel, open steel, delft clay or whatever) ready to receive the melted metal. I have never used a berzomatic torch or MAP gas, but the lack of eneough heat sounds like your problem. You can build a small tent around you crucible to hold in what heat you have using some of the supplies you have on hand. I use small pieces of tile backer board. You can buy this at a big box store and cut it into whatever shape you want. You can also us fire brick. Keep in mind that all of these materials will absorb some heat. I can’t tell from you picture what your crucible is made out of. I have only ever used a white high temperature crucible that has been coated with borax. This is important for precious metal. I am not sure about brass. Again, I think that you need more heat. Think propane and O2 or acetylene. I use a Meco, Little Torch and EZ Torch. I know that the Meco and Little Torch will melt brass because I have done it. I am not sure about the EZ Torch, but will try later in the day. Good luck…Rob

1 Like

Thanks so much for the reply, Rob.

Any tips on fume safety with the tent? I have a respirator and my space is well ventilated, essentially I’m working right next to an open garage door.