Best way to find freelance jewelers for model making/piece work?

Hello! My background is in jewelry making and design ( trained in Italy) and I am living in the USA. I have designed a collection but would like to find skilled freelance jewelers who are very experienced in model making to realize these designs. I have been a long time Ganoksin and SNAG member and have tried searching in linkedin and other boards but cannot seem to connect with the right people. Is this a good forum to post this? I would love to connect with a few highly skilled jewelers who can do hinges settings and small piece work to help get this line going and into production. Any advice from this knowledgeable community would be greatly appreciated! I will say that I am in the Los Angeles area and prefer to connect with people In the western United States and have hesitations about approaching these large manufacturing houses. I am used to the Florentine way of the craft. Thanks!
-Carmit

Hi Carmit, I did fabrication, model making,
molding and casting for several metalsmiths for
many years.
You can PM me on Facebook Messenger
and we can discuss what you need.
I also have contact with people who can do
things I do not do.
Richard Hart

Try a face book group called Bench Jewelers Helping Bench jewelers.

2 Likes

So much depends on what exactly you are looking to do… but you will have no problem finding contacts. Perhaps if you describe precisely what skills you require, I can suggest some folks? LA is a fabulous place to be, there are many options.

“manufacturing houses” fall into numerous categories. Some are vertically integrated (print/mill, cast, finish, set, etc etc). Some just cast. Some just set, some just finish, etc etc.