Bending spring tempered gold tubing

Hello Everyone,

I’m a new full fledge member, (un?)fortunately I’m self taught (going on year 3ish after taking multiple metal smith courses several years ago, which obviously isn’t/wasn’t enough, as you will see. I’m now learning via painful and near bankrupting trial and error…lots of error. I scour the www watching videos everywhere I can find them. And read used jewelry books, currently just started Kallenberg’s Modeling in wax for jewelry and sculpture, 1981. Who knew?! I should’ve started out using wax…I would saved several thousand dollars In burnt/melted ring bezels…sigh

I’m about to order two 12" length’s of spring tempered 18k gold tubing. As I have acquired 4 perfect “end pieces” for the necklaces/neck rings I plan to make. The tubing is medium gauge (0.4mm thick ) has a 4.06mm OD with 3.26mm ID (8gauge) when I spoke to the manufacturer about bending it for chokers (with a 4.5" gap (1" of which will be taken up by the gold end pieces I’m inserting into the tube ends) they recommended I use no less than medium gauge and to have it spring tempered, so to allow for the torsion it will be under when one twists it slightly to get it on and off the neck. Thus preventing eventual cracking from brittleness.