Beginner having a hard time with initial carving/line work

Hello, I’m just getting into wax carving and looking to do very simple designs on pendents. I’m using kate wolf brown wax and also using her china marker/graphite technique to lay down the initial design. I’m stumped after that, I’ve tried using a scriber, onglette engraver and a assorted dental tools and my lines have been coming out nasty. It seems like the wax has impurity’s or my tools are not sharp enough. Any scriber recommendations to achieve basic lines like in this picture

2 Likes

My now deceased wife, used Filo was, a VERY HARD - 70% plastic wax mix, and carved VERY short lines, curves, etc. in the wax. Sharp tools, hards, grainless wax, a steady hand, LOTS of experience/time and you can do it. Wax work, good wax work, is truly and art and it does take time to learn the ins and outs of it all. I would suggest you get some really hard wax, sharpen your tools and then sharpen your working ability……… practice is very helpful!!!

I am interested in seeing what others say on this. I am not a wax carver but I did Cynthia’s (deceased wife) bronzes, for me a learning experience but I will say a success. Can be seen at MLCE dot net if interested.

Best of luck and learning.

John D

4 Likes

Blue wax was always to gooey for me. I use hard green wax for carving. Another benefit of green wax is that you can smooth the surface with sand paper. You may have better results with your lines by using scrapers that you pull through the wax instead of anything you have to push.

3 Likes

I am very new to this myself. I bought some wax from Rio and a set of tools from Harbor Freight and did some experimenting. I bought a kilo of delft clay which I promptly mislaid. So I bought 2 more and promptly found the first.

These photos are my first two projects with wax and clay. Room to improve but I am happy with the results.

Don

4 Likes

I now use Kate Wolf’s Gold carving wax, and it can be carved in great detail.