Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Attaching platinum to gold: solder v. weld

Hey everyone!
I’ve got a minor argument to settle over here, and was hoping to get some input from y’all.

In the process of replacing a 14kt head in a 14kt yellow gold ring with a hand fabricated platinum head, the discussion came up as to the best way to attach it.
I’ve always been of the mind to use the highest temp gold solder possible, ensuring a clean and solid bond. My coworker believes that the only way to do it right is to use the laser welder, as “the solder joint won’t be strong and will break”.
Now I fancy myself as a pretty decent torch operator, and feel that a well soldered joint is just as strong as what we can achieve with a welder.
I’ve searched through the forums a bit, and can’t find anything definitive one way or the other.

I appreciate any and all input!

Thanks!
Scott

I have @25+ years experience riding the laser, and 35 riding the bench. The laser is an amazing tool, but then so is the torch.
Together they give me far more range than either one would, alone.
When installing a new head, after fitting it well, I will lightly weld it in place with the laser, more of a light tac weld.
This allows me to make any minor adjustments, before continuing.
For the final assembly, I always use the torch to pull the solder completely through the joint.
In my experience the solder does a far better job of fully securing the setting to the shank than the laser.
I will often then go back and use the laser to fill any voids and, or “flash” recessed areas that are hard to polish.
It is not unusual for me to use both tools on a variety of jobs, as each has its advantages and uses, and each has its areas where it is simply not as good as the other option at hand.

1 Like