Argentium vs Continuum vs Sterlium Tarnish

Here is a photo of castings of (from left to right) Argentium 935 Pro, Sterlium, Continuum that are six years old and have been sitting on the shelf in Ronda Coryell’s studio. I originally saw these when she was doing research on the three alloys six years ago. You can see the differences in how the three tarnish. These photos are unedited in anyway and taken with an iPhone. I have been working with Argentium for the last six years and I love the fusing properties, the ability to granulate on fabricated or cast pieces, and the whiteness of Argentium.

3 Likes

I saw this exact comparison somewhere earlier today. I am very interested to hear people’s take on this :slight_smile:

1 Like

I saw this exact comparison somewhere earlier today. I am very
interested to hear people’s take on this

My take on the picture Cheri posted is that purely for anti-tarnish
qualities you can’t go wrong with Argentium. In Argentium’s favor I
really, really like to use it when making chain. The color is so
incredibly white and bright, and it stays that way. The rings fuse
closed so easily, no solder needed.

But a problem with Argentium is that at hard soldering temperature it
loses strength. I remember using a pick to move a snippet of solder and
the Argentium gave way like slush, ruining the piece. Most of the time
all it takes is a little care and adequate support for the metal, but
for some things a stronger silver with at least some anti-tarnish
properties would really be great.

Continuum does not come off that well in Cheri’s picture, but that is 6
years without polish. Jo’s favorable views of Continuum carry much more
weight with me than the picture does. I’d like to try it and Sterlium.

Neil A