Argentium Chain Mass Finishing

Hello!

I am relatively new to silversmithing and will be producing Argentium sterling silver chains. I’ve been doing a bunch of research and have found different information so I thought it’d be a good idea to ask on here what the best methods for mass finishing the chains would be. I have a rotary tumbler so I’ve formulated the following steps from a series of resources.

1. (Finishing chain) File and sand
  2. Tumble with steel shot
  3. Tumble with plastic media, a mix of cones and pyramids ***I am unsure for this step as to whether I should do so with medium cut or fine if anyone can offer insight
  4. Tumble with dry media and rouge, I’ll likely be using walnut shells
  5. Since it is Argentium I will be oven hardening it to get the most benefit out of the germanium this will be followed by a pickle to remove any extra copper or discoloration
  6. Final tumble in steel shot
  7. Final polish with Goddard’s Silver polish and cloth

Now i am unsure as to whether this is overkill as far as polishing is concerned but this is essentially a combination of mass finishing recommendations I found from research and recommendations made by Cynthia Eid made both on this website and in her publications. I am also unsure as to whether a simple hand wash will suffice between steps 4. and 5. to remove any excess polish before oven hardening or if I should invest in an ultrasonic cleaner to do that.

If you could please comment your advise, approvals or changes it would be greatly appreciated.

ADDITIONALLY*

I have also heard of the following sequence:

1. Tumble with Medium abrasive pyramids (4-6hrs)
  2. Tumble with Fine abrasive pyramids (4-6hrs)
  3. Tumble in steel shot (30-45mins)
  4. Tumble in Green buff (24-48hrs)
  5. Oven harden
  6. Tumble in steel shot (30-45mins)
  7. Final polish with goddards and cloth