Would Like Advise on Buying a 12" Guillotine Shear

I am a Metal Arts student who is building a studio. I finally saved enough to add a guillotine shear to my arsenal of tools. I recently bought a Used Durston 300mm guillotine from the Rio Outlet, but I am returning it because of a problem with the blade not completely closing when the guide plate is attached. The shear’s handle hits the guide plate only allowing me to make a 250mm cut. Now I’m trying to decide if I should spend the money for a new Durston shear or invest in a Potter 12" guillotine shear. Has anyone else experienced a similar problem with a Durston shear? Does anyone have experience using the Potter shear? All advise and recommendations are appreciated.
Thank you,
Dee Ryder

1 Like

Dee Ryder, did you call Rio and ask about
your issue?
From the picture it looks like the way the
guide fits, you cannot cut a full 12" you
might have a new guide made there might
be enough room for the knobs to
move left enough to use a narrow strip
with holes drilled appropriately. The right
side of the guide needs to be in
alignment with the frame upright.
I bought a used Di Acro 12" shear off EBay,
I can cut full 12" lengths.
I see some for $800-1200, bought mine
15 years ago for $1,200. It has held its value.
I can cut 16 gauge, I have to put a
block against the guide to get the handle
down low enough for me to have the leverage
to shear it.

Hello Richard,
Thanks for responding. I sent pictures and have spoken to Rio tech multiple times. They agree there is a problem and I’m shipping the shear back to them.
Yes, the feed plate could be altered so the handle cleared it to make a full 12" cut, but for a tool that sells for $1,345 alterations shouldn’t be necessary.