Welder prong repair do's and dont's

Hi all,
I finally have my Orion welder and am looking for more info on re-tipping claws as i cant find much online.
The users manual briefly brushes over prong repair and from what i can work out is entirely safe as long as the electrode is clean.
I have seen in videos that some people put hand cream over their stones but seen no explanation why - i assume as a protective barrier but is that against heat transfer or the soot from the weld?
Is there more of a risk with stones with corners, princess cut for example?
Obviously i will be practicing on smaller stones but when it comes to more expensive stones do people prefer to pull the stone and re-claw to eliminate any risk?
Cheers

Hi, Jon,

I can’t help you directly – I’m still learning my Orion – but here are some resources that have helped me:

There’s a workbook on the Orion site that has a lot of great information. I can’t get a direct link, but if you go to orionwelders.com, click on Resources, click on Downloads, then scroll down to the Manuals section (on my computer it’s on the lower right), and directly under Pulse Are / Micro TIG Welding Systems is a link to “Pulse Arc Welding Workbook.”

There are also some webinar archives, also under Resources, that run about an hour and go quite in-depth for various tasks. I thought there was one on prongs, so be sure to check those out.

Otherwise, I have to agree, there is very little out there that is truly helpful for someone wanting to learn. There are some workshops given occasionally (MetalWerx has one if I recall) but they are far away from me, so I haven’t attended them.

I keep hoping some jeweler / artist who uses this technology will write a book or create a video or DVD. It’s very frustrating knowing one is spending hours reinventing the wheel.