Torch handle fire

Hello, this is my first time posting to the community. I have recently had 2 incidences where, after using my air/acetylene torch the handle has become very warm and a terrible smell has happened. I have concluded there was a fire in my handle and of course am now afraid to solder anything until this is dealt with. My tank is turned off.
I have an ASCO torch handle that dates back to 1974 and most likely needs replacing. I guess I am wondering if anyone has experienced this before and was there something to replace within the handle like an o ring or something.
Secondary is this: If I am to get a whole new handle should I go with the same set up or is there an advantage to something different - like the Smith little torch. My inclination is to stick with what I know but am wondering if the Smith is that much better to what I am used to. I am a jeweler working primarily in sterling and have been torch firing enamel for the last couple of years. Thanks for any insights you may have!
Katherine

1 Like

My old Prestolite acetylene and air torch used to pop once in a while if I didn’t have the tip screwed in correctly. I suppose that it is possible that a small flame could happen at this same location. Regardless, you need to fix what is going on before you use the torch. Take it to a welding shop. Yes, you will probably be better off replacing it. Going to a Little Torch is a very different experience from what you are used to. You will also need to find a source of oxygen. It could be a tank and regulator or an O2 concentrator. Lots of torch discussion on this site. Search for them, especially if you decide to go to a Little Torch…Rob

1 Like