"Square-Shape", Inside-Cutting used in Bright-Cutting patterns

This exercise & essay is not for the absolute beginner. It might be used as an example as one of the most intricate & novel setting techniques in my “Bright-Cutting” inventory.**

• It is very labour intensive even for me! A vague knowledge of graver cutting will make this exercise difficult to grasp, this technique is basically…very demanding & technical, trust me!*

The Difficulty Scale: This is about 30, out of 10. (If not more!)

What setting tools are needed?

>Planning ahead of every cutting action*will be well advised.*
>Experience in using your gravers of at least 5-6 (or more) years.

>Mis**takes will happen***, *leave your frustrations in another room…:>(

Flat graver of #40, with a face height of 0.30 mm’s.
Knife-Edge Graver of 0.25 mm’s in width, why so thin? You’ll see in a few moments.
Opti-visor with #5 lens. Lens #3 is not strong enough, lens #7 is even best.
Hand-held loupe of 10x power, you must continually ‘double-check’ what you’re doing!!!
***Onglette #1 graver, ***that is shaped to cut only on the Right-Side…(if you’re right-handed).
Polishing Paper for your gravers. I suggest #800, or even a #1,200 grit.
Oil Stone, to keep your gravers (extremely) sharp at all times. You can’t cut with a dull graver!!!
Marking-pen. This is used extensively to layout your new patterns, prior to your ‘rough-cutting’.

I use this method on a regular basis.

I will be showing two variations of graver cuttings. Each version is similar, but just slightly different from the other.

IMG_0282

This little ink-pen is my favourite (new) setting tool, why? Without it, I might not know where the next cut will start or even finish, buy one and get used to it.

IMG_0283

I like this pen because it has a very fine point to it…get the point?..:>)

IMG_0115

Start your very fine graver cutting right at the edge of the hole. You don’t want any sort of metal remaining once the stone is set, it just looks ugly!