Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Sawing thin slits in end of rectangle silver rod

Trying to saw 2 slits, lengthwise, in one end of a 4-5 mm silver rectangle rod about 2 mm thick… (to be later bent up for a ring.). Besides the fact it’s hard to keep it straight, the thin strip breaks off… I’m about to can this idea and devise a workaround using solder, but am wondering how to hand saw almost as precise as a table saw to cut these slits in the end. I annealed it first but maybe that softens it too much… any info welcome and thank you.

Try using a very thin separating disc rather than a saw. Let us know how it goes. Good luck…Rob

3 Likes

I’d try and scribe some lines down the center of all sides then make them a bit deeper with the saw blade, to guide as I’m cutting. I’m a hobbyist and still learning and only tried that once. It was just ok, and was fairly uneven (then I broke off a prong in an unrelated mistake), but I’m better at cutting now, so I plan to try again when I get the time.

Practice appears to be the only way.
Im fairly new, and have attempted this a few times, getting better and better but still messy.

As Steven said, use dividers to scribe carefully, instead of pressing hard, do a few runs.
Lube up a thin blade, and cut. Just do 30 or 50 copper wires, and you’ll get great at it!

Now, if someone can tell me how to stop the pain in my thumb on the hand holding the metal down, i’d be all good.

Or, make a tool. File a V into your cutting block, saw a vertical line down the middle, and use it as a guide. Or aluminum. Or 3d print…