Repurposing a yellow & white gold ring

Before I ask my question, I want to make clear that while I made jewelry for a living, I am not a professional. I sell in markets, craft fairs & a couple of retail locations, and I make affordable stuff which people seem to like and which doesn’t break the bank. I don’t have a professional studio (it’s my bedroom!) and because I live in an apartment, I only use a butane torch. I work in silver and copper, and lately I’ve been adding recycled gold bits to some pieces (mostly by fusing it). When I grow up I’d like to be a real jeweler, get some training and have a proper studio, but at my age that may never happen. That said:

I have a regular customer (I’ve never met her, she found me on Instagram). She wants to commission me to re-purpose her & her husband’s wedding rings (he passed away). I’m frankly reluctant, the rings are beautiful First Nations work & she could get a very good price for them, though of course I understand the sentimental aspect & have done this sort of repurposing, on a smaller $cale, for other people. They are white & yellow, white on the inside, with a couple of small stones (sapphire & diamond, I think, from the photo).

My question is about melting the two colours of gold together. Apart from the fact that (I assume) it will be much less yellow, is there any other reason not to do this? I thought I saw a thread about this but can’t find it now.

I’m leaning a bit towards simply declining, to be honest, and suggesting she approach a professional. On the other hand she knows what I do and likes my style, so who I am to tell her what she should want? Sigh.

Thanks,
Sue