New to GanoksinOrchid. Anyone Near Central OH Who Can Mentor Me?

I am new to Jewelry Design. I have a bit of money, and a creative flare, lots of tools from other work I’ve done (MAP torch, jeweler’s files, etc) and need to make some informed-decisions about what direction I should go given my inexperience. The process that most attracts me is 3d print/burn-out/cast/finish, and I’d like to add in stone-setting, and other value-added capabilities on the finishing side of the process.

I am in Central Ohio, and wondered if there is anyone who is experienced in this field and wouldn’t mind helping me get started on the right foot.

Hello,

Welcome to the Orchid forum!

I am not near Ohio, but I have a quick question for you…

you mentioned that you are attracted to the 3D print/ burn-out/ cast finish processes, as well as stone setting…that is a broad list of skills to learn (and potential capitol outlay…)

are you more attracted to the design aspect? or the actual production/ fabrication aspect? or both equally?

many parts of your list could be out-sourced, allowing you to spend more time doing what you prefer (and what you don’t prefer, but need to do;)

you can outsource:
3D CAD design
3D printing
casting
finishing
stone setting

or you can learn to do it all…

just my musings…

Julie

1 Like