Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Lindsay Air Graver

I just unpacked a Lindsay Airgraver. It is a piece of art. Hopefully, it will help me produce pieces of art…Rob

3 Likes

Nice! Which model did you get? I’ll be following this closely.
– alonzo

Classic…Rob

hi
exciting!

julie

Does anyone have any guidance on the ergonomics of an engraving bench. I will be using a GRS standard ball but I won’t be using a microscope for the foreseeable future. Thanks…Rob

Hi Rob,
As to the ergonomics, I have no experience and would say to make it a comfortable height for using gravers…you might want those pull out arm rests that you see on some jewelry benches or some other way to steady your forearms, I suppose. Pad the armrests? Take into account the height of any engraving ball or attachment you are going to use.

I know from reading your contributions here that you are a bit of a tool junkie (like all of us, I guess), so I am surprised that a microscope is not on your radar. I got a used American Optical 7-45X zoom and a boom stand a while back and I can tell you that the level of detail that you can see is just amazing! As an example, I got a cheap set of 1/8" Chinese stamps off Ebay and I have been able to refine, rework and recarve them easily with the 'scope. It’s no trouble at all to see five or six dots across the face of the stamp and refine these, etc. There are some Youtube videos of diamond setters using these…I think they are from a diamond setting school over in the Netherlands…that show what can be done with a ‘scope, an engraving ball and one of the air gravers. It’s amazing work…just sayin’…-royjohn

Rob, if you go on engraver.com site they sell benches for resting your forearms. TIRA MITCHELL

Engraver.com Cherry Setters and Engravers Workbench

Rob,