Jade polishing (fwd)

Hallo, Ziv Cheng:
I tried mailing you direct because this is going to take up a bit of space and I didn’t want to clog up the ganoksin group, but my mailer returned my message, so we’ll try this way. I am an amateur like you, but have worked with jade for 20 years. I had problems with polishing nephrite jade at first, but learnt how to do it properly many years ago from professionals. I don’t know what equipment you have, so will just tell you what to do after roughing out your cab, and if you want further please email me direct - my address as at the bottom of this page. Firstly however I suggest that you visit your local library and ask the librarian for some books on making jewellery, and on lapidary as these will give you the beginnings of how to make cabochons properly, will tell you what you need, and will put you on the right lines for other work.