I want to be a Jewelry Designer

Good evening, Orchid Community. Here I am, yet again. I find myself coming back to this forum over and over again, because I find no better advice than right here from all of you. I am confident that most of you are rather experienced in this industry (that sounds better than saying you’re all older than I am), so I feel secure and confident coming to this community with the question that I have. Before I ask what I need to, let me first preface how I entered into this lovely industry if you have the time to read quite a bit.

When I was 19, I was miserable at my university. I was an average student on the path to becoming a programmer while minoring in marketing. I chose that career path, because it was safe. Not only was it safe, but it wasn’t too difficult if I applied myself. It wasn’t a passion of mine, but it would give me a mostly secure salary. One summer, while working for my university, I slowly found out I was truly unhappy. Having worked the third shift, I had ungodly amounts of free time to browse the internet and let my mind wander. Being a bit of a materialist, I would read articles about the luxury market and all of the neat things wealthy people would throw money at. I soon found myself discovering the luxury watch market, or haute horlogerie. I was completely enamored. I fell in love with brands such as Audemars Piguet, Patek Philippe, Vacheron Constantin, and many more. I had no idea that mechanical watches could be so complex, yet so elegant in their execution! I wanted in. I soon began looking for a school that taught watchmaking/repair. This led me to an older school with a slightly antiquated curriculum in a small river town about three hours south of my current town. I left that winter and found myself taking the horology course. To my surprise, they also offered a nine month course on jewelry design and stone-setting. I decided I would take that course as well. I became absolutely enamored with creating jewel